If the administrator has not disabled Private Messaging system, you may send private messages to one or more registered
members of the forum. To access the PM system, simply click on the Private Messaging link
which can be found at the top of the page's right corner. If you have any unread private messages, this link will indicate how many unread messages you have.
Sending a private message
Private messages are very similar to email, you specify the person(s) who you wish to send the message to, enter the subject & the message
and click send. There are 2 links available, that would allow you to easily find members who you wish to send your message to,
Select from Buddy List, which will allow to select people from your buddy list, by listing all your buddies and Find User, which
will allow to search the forum's entire member list for people to whom you wish to address your message.
A copy of every sent message will be stored inside your SENT folder, for future reference, you can always delete those message should
your choose to do so.
There are 3 other folders that you should be aware of:
Inbox folder contains any messages that you have received, each message has an read/unread indicator to allow you to see if you
have read this message or not. You will also be able to see who sent this message and if that person is currently online or not, the date when
the message was sent is also shown.
Drafts Folder contains the messages you have written but did not yet send yet. By clicking on the message you will go to edit mode,
which will allow you to further modify the message as well as send it if you choose to. Once the message is sent it will be moved from the DRAFTS
folder to your SENT folder.
Trash folder stores all the message you have marked for deletion, but did not delete as of yet. If you delete a message which is located
inside TRASH this message will become permanently deleted.
When you send a message you have the ability to request a read-receipt, when the recipient reads the message you will receive a system message
notifying you that your message has been read.
However, if you request such a receipt the recipient may choose to decline sending the read-receipt, so if you have requested a receipt and
did not receive it this does not necessarily mean your message was not read.