Home » Linux OS and Software » How-To » apt-get = help
Wed, 02 March 2011 12:56 Go to next message
Hi,
Im new to Linux, so I apologize if this comes off dumb. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

One of the reasons I chose Ubuntu was because its Easy to use, and apt-get is super cool well Ive tried four times on four fresh installs and it fails every time, at the same place.

Let me first tell you the commands Ive been using, and then Ill show you the output.

Sudo apt-get update This goes through fine.
Sudo apt-get upgrade this goes for a while until it hits bind9

Setting up bind9-host (1:9.7.0.dfsg.P1-1ubuntu0.1) ...
Setting up bind9utils (1:9.7.0.dfsg.P1-1ubuntu0.1) ...
Setting up bind9 (1:9.7.0.dfsg.P1-1ubuntu0.1) ...
#
/etc/init.d/bind9: 130: Cannot forkbind9
/usr/sbin/invoke-rc.d: 446: Cannot fork

The prompt goes away and leaves me with a blank space that I can type in, but nothing happens Im guessing that this is what happens when Linux crashes?

So my questions are.

Am I using apt-get wrong?
What am I doing wrong, why and what does it mean by cannot fork?
And lastly what is the blank space about, and is there anyway to fix it without going onto the web page and restarting the server?

Village Server Plan
Ubuntu 10.04

If you need anymore info Ill be more then happy to provide it.

Thanks again,
- J
Wed, 02 March 2011 18:38 Go to previous message
james wrote on Wed, 02 March 2011 12:56

Im guessing that this is what happens when Linux crashes?

This is not Linux crashing. This is a subprocess of the update run failing.

Am I using apt-get wrong?

No! You are using it correctly. Although, depending on the difference in version numbers an "apt-get dist-upgrade" might be in order.

What am I doing wrong, why and what does it mean by cannot fork?